Nature Writing Prize 2017

The Nature Conservancy

The Nature Conservancy’s fourth biennial Nature Writing Prize is open for submissions until 27 January 2017.

The $5,000 award is for an essay between 3,000 and 5,000 words to the theme ‘writing of place’. The prize will go to an Australian writer whose entry is judged to be of the highest literary merit and which best explores his or her relationship and interaction with some aspect of the Australian landscape. The competition’s judges are award-winning journalist, author and editor Jo Chandler and novelist and critic James Bradley.

The winning essay will be published online by Griffith Review, as a multimedia essay.

Griffith Review in the 2016 Prime Minister’s Summer Reading List

In the media

Every year, the Grattan Institute releases a summer reading list for the Prime Minister. It recommends books and articles that the Prime Minister, or any Australian interested in public debate, will find both stimulating and a great read. We’re thrilled to see that this year’s list includes ‘Time for a new consensus: Fostering Australia’s comparative advantages’, an e-book by Jonathan West and Tom Bentley from Griffith Review 51: Fixing the System. West and Bentley explore the economic, social and cultural changes in Australia over the last forty years, and suggest a new economic model for a more secure future.

The list also includes:

The Phoenix Years: Art, resistance and the making of modern China – Madeleine O’Dea 
Talking to my country – Stan Grant  
When and Why Nationalism Beats Globalism – Jonathan Haidt 
The Life Project: The Extraordinary Story of Our Ordinary Lives – Helen Pearson  
AutumnAli Smith

Melissa Lucashenko awarded $80,000 fellowship

Copyright Agency Fellowship

Congratulations to Griffith Review contributor Melissa Lucashenko, who this week was awarded the Copyright Agency Author Fellowship. This year, CAL doubled the value of its fellowship for mid-to-late career authors to $80,000. The money will help Melissa finish a contemporary novel about ‘outlaws and Aboriginal hillbillies’, set in a poor NSW country town called Durrongo.

Griffith Review Fellowships announced

Queensland writers

Griffith Review is proud to join with the Queensland Literary Awards in announcing a series of Queensland writers Fellowships. This initiative will also be supported by the Queensland Government through State Library of Queensland and Arts Queensland, and philanthropic funds.

Up to six fellowships will be awarded each year over two years, 2016 and 2017. This new opportunity for Queensland writers and those writing about Queensland represents a vital coming together of private donors and public funds, opening up new spaces for quality writing about the state. The work produced as a result of the fellowships will be published in Griffith Review.

Premier and Arts Minister Annastacia Palaszczuk welcomed the establishment of the new fellowships.

‘This further demonstrates the Queensland Government’s commitment to nurture and grow opportunities for writers and continue to build Queensland’s reputation as a leader in the national literary landscape,’ the Premier said.

Professor Julianne Schultz AM FAHA Griffith... Read more

2016 Josephine Ulrick Prize winners

And the winners are…

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Josephine Ulrick Poetry and Literature Prizes!

Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Poetry Prize

Joint first prize ($7,500 each):

‘Bloodwork’ – Chloe Wilson (Williamstown, Victoria)

‘T/error: A Troika’ – Sarah Holland-Batt (Hamilton, Queensland)


Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Literature Prize

First prize ($10,000): ‘Chess and Dragonflies’ – Dr Tessa Lunney (Darlington, New South Wales)

Second prize ($5,000): ‘A crack in the teacup’ – Melissa Goode (Leura, New South Wales)

Josephine Ulrick Prizes 2016 Shortlist

Announcing the finalists…

The shortlists for the 2016 Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Prizes have been announced! Stay tuned for the winners in mid-August.

Poetry Prize:

‘Boy’, Jordie Albiston (Victoria)

‘The Demolition of Hotel Australia’, John Hawke (Victoria)

‘T/error: A Troika’, Sarah Holland-Batt (Queensland)

‘Preserved Heart with Gunshot Wound’, Sarah Holland-Batt (Queensland)

‘Whitely visits Morandi’, Nathan Shepherdson (Queensland)

‘Bloodwork’, Chloe Wilson (Victoria)

Judges: Judith Beveridge and Anthony Lawrence


Literature Prize:

‘A crack in the teacup’, Melissa Goode (New South Wales)

‘The 45th Parallel’, Laura Kenny (Queensland)

‘Chess and Dragonflies’, Tessa Lunney (New South Wales)

‘Colour me grey’, Julia Prendergast (Victoria)

‘Growth’, Mirandi Riwoe (Queensland)

‘Love Letters’, Deborah Wardle (Victoria)

Judges: Matthew Lamb and Terri-ann White

UNAA Media Peace Awards

Congratulations to authors of Finger Money

Finger money: The black and white of stolen wages’ by Steve Kinnane, Judy Harrison and Isabelle Reinecke, from Griffith Review 47: Looking West, has been selected as a Finalist in the United Nations Association of Australia Media Peace Awards 2015 in the Promotion of Indigenous Recognition Award category. Congratulations to the authors!


2015 Qld Premier's Literary Awards

Congratulations to all the Griffith Review contributors who have been shortlisted in the 2015 Queensland Literary Awards: Ellen van Neerven, Nick Earls, Sophie Cunningham, Megan McGrath and Michelle Law.

Indigenous recognition in WA

At long last…

Yesterday, Western Australia became the last mainland state to recognise Indigenous people as the state’s first inhabitants and traditional custodians, with a unanimously passed bill in the WA Legislative Council. Listen to Fran Kelly’s report on this important, if symoblic, milestone on ABC RN Breakfast.

For more on the state of Indigenous affairs in Western Australia, you can read ‘Finger money: the black and white of stolen wages’, a multi-faceted examination of the state’s shocking history of Indigenous stolen wages, by STEVE KINNANE, JUDY HARRISON and ISABELLE REINECKE.

Contributor news

Congratulations to Cameron Muir, Peter Mares and Chris Price

Peter Mares has won the 2015 Migration and Settlement Award for Journalism Excellence for his Inside Story essay, ‘Living at the wrong end of the queue’.

Chris Price’s essay from Griffith Review 43: Pacific Highways – volume 2 has been longlisted for the Notting Hill Essay Prize.

Cameron Muir’s book, The Broken Promise of Agricultural Progress: An Environmental History, has been shortlisted for the 2015 NSW Premier’s History Awards in the NSW Community and Regional History category. The book features two of Cameron’s Griffith Review essays. 

Ellen van Neerven has been shortlisted for The Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction 2015 for Heat and Light (UQP). The judges said: ‘Van Neerven’s imagery leaves deep impressions on the mind … an affecting and commanding work of fiction.’

Griffith Review